2014 – 15 Scholarship Night

The FLSME June 2nd, 2015 Monthly Meeting was designated as ‘Scholarship Night’ where our members had the opportunity to invite and honor the educators and students in our area who received awards and scholarships for their efforts in the classroom.

2015 Teacher of the Year / Mining Ambassador Awards

A Teacher of the Year and Mining Ambassador of the Year awards were made to key mining-supportive educators from applicants in DeSoto, Hardee, Hillsborough, and Polk Counties. In their application, the educator, in part, explained how they teach the importance of mining in their student’s everyday lives, how they feel their teaching ability is outstanding, and what they feel their greatest achievement is as a teacher.

The Teacher of the Year received a $1,000 individual award and a $500 award for their school. The nominated Mining Ambassador received a $1,000 individual prize. Both winners received plaques and were recognized at the SME Scholarship Night dinner meeting that was held in June.

Adele Allison

Teacher of the Year: Adele Allison – Bartow High School

James Wood

Mining Ambassador: James Wood – Hilltop Elementary


2015 Scholarship Awards


Jason Diffey

Nine $1,000.00 scholarships were awarded to top graduated high school seniors pursuing engineering, science, or mathematics degrees.

Scholarship Winners from Polk County are:
Jason Diffey
Phillip Monte
Zachary Primus
Abigail Suhr
Joanna Sands
Jay Khatri

Jama n Parker Brown

Parker Brown

Scholarship Winner from Desoto County is:
Parker Brown

Scholarship Winners from Hardee County include:
Meagan Shivers
Danielle Smith



Posted in Teachers

Join Our Newsletter

Sign up for our FREE newsletters now!